Registered Financial Consultant (RFC)

Designation Essentials
Status Currently offered and recognized by the issuing organization.
Issuing Organization International Association of Registered Financial Consultants (IARFC)
Qualification and Educational Requirements
Prerequisites Candidate must meet all of the following requirements:
  • Undergraduate or graduate financial planning degree, or have earned one of the following designations: AAMS, AEP, CEP, CFA, CFP, ChFC, CLU, CPA, EA, LUTC, MS, MBA, JD, Ph.D, or completed a CFP equivalent, IARFC-approved college curriculum.
  • Licensing requirements: if operating on a commission basis, must meet licensing requirements for securities and life and health insurance; if operating strictly as fee-only and not licensed, then must be registered as an investment adviser.
  • Four years full-time experience as a financial planning practitioner.
Education Requirements Completion of approved college curriculum in personal financial planning or IARFC self-study course.
Examination Type College curriculum: must include an IARFC-approved examination process. IARFC self-study course: final certification exam.
Continuing Education Requirements Forty hours per year
Verification, Complaints and Accreditation
Check Professional Status Online Online at Registered Financial Consultant Search
Investor Complaint Process Online at Submit a Complaint
Published List of Disciplined Designees None
Accredited By None