Skip to main content

Important Disclaimer: FINRA does not approve or endorse any professional credential or designation. Learn More >>

Certified Financial Transitionist (CeFT)

Designation Essentials
Status Currently offered and recognized by the issuing organization.
Issuing Organization The Financial Transitionist Institute
Qualification and Training Requirements

Five years of direct client service experience (face-to-face) AND hold one or more of the following designations: Certified Financial Planner (CFP), Certified Investment Manage Analyst (CIMA), Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC), Certified Divorce Financial Analyst (CDFA), Certified Private Wealth Advisor (CPWA), Certified Public Accountant/ Personal Financial Specialist (CPA/PFS), and/orChartered Financial Analyst (CFA).

Designation Training Requirements

Completion of 12-month core training   

Designation Exam Type

Daylong, proctored, closed book exam includes multiple choice, structured response, essays, and live, role-playing. Exam is internet-based.

Continuing Education Requirements

 15 hours per year, including 10 hours through Financial Transitionist Institute/Sudden Money Institute 

Verification and Complaints
Online Designation Resource

Online at Find an Advisor   

Investor Complaint Process

Yes, by email, mail or by submitting an online complaint form


Published List of Disciplined Designees