Skip to main content

For updates and guidance related to COVID-19 / Coronavirus, click here.

Important Disclaimer: FINRA does not approve or endorse any professional credential or designation. Learn More >>

Federal Retirement Consultant (FRC)

Designation Essentials
Status Currently offered and recognized by the issuing organization.
Issuing Organization Federation of Federal Employee Benefit Advocates LLC (FFEBA)
Qualification and Educational Requirements

Complete a disclosure questionnaire and meet two of the three following requirements:

  1. Five years of experience in financial services and/or insurance services relating to retirement planning
  2. Hold one of the following:
    • State Insurance License
    • Series 6
    • Series 7
    • Series 24
    • Series 65
    • Series 66
  3. Hold one of the following:
    • Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC)
    • Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU)
    • Certified Financial Planner (CFP)
    • Masters Degree in Business, Finance or Economics
    • Attorney’s License (JD)
    • Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
Education Requirements

Successful completion of the complete the Federal Retirement Consultant (FRC) Course

Examination Type

Final certification exam (proctored, closed book)

Continuing Education Requirements

Six FRC credits annually

Verification and Complaints
Check Designation Status Online

Online at FRC Lookup:

Investor Complaint Process

Online at File a Complaint:

Published List of Disciplined Designees