Skip to main content

For updates and guidance related to COVID-19 / Coronavirus, click here.

Important Disclaimer: FINRA does not approve or endorse any professional credential or designation. Learn More >>

Registered Social Security Analyst (RSSA)

Designation Essentials
Status Currently offered and recognized by the issuing organization.
Issuing Organization National Association of Registered Social Security Analysts Ltd (NARSSA.ORG)
Qualification and Educational Requirements

Client experience demonstrated in one of the following ways:

  • Are a FINRA registered securities professional or advisor
  • Are a CPA, a CFP, an EA, a lawyer or have another professional license issued by a state agency
  • Have an insurance license issued by the state in which you practice
  • Have registered with the IRS to prepare tax returns having a valid PTIN
Education Requirements

Five online self-study NARSSA courses (approximately 15 hours)

Examination Type

Final RSSA designation certificate exam (online, proctored)

Continuing Education Requirements

Four hours annually

Verification and Complaints
Check Designation Status Online

Online at Find a Registered Social Security Analyst

Investor Complaint Process

Follow instructions at Code of Professional Conduct

Published List of Disciplined Designees