Skip to main content


Sec. 4.3  (a) The Board shall consist exclusively of members of the FINRA Board. The number of Public Directors shall exceed the number of Industry Directors. The Chairman of the FINRA Board and the Chief Executive Officer of FINRA shall be ex-officio non-voting members of the Board. At least two, and not less than 20%, of the Directors shall be Small Firm, Mid-Size Firm, or Large Firm Governors. The terms "Small Firm Governor," "Mid-Size Firm Governor," and "Large Firm Governor" are defined as specified in the FINRA By-Laws. Ex-officio non-voting members of the Board shall not be counted as Board members for purposes of this section.
(b) Contemporaneous with the annual election of Directors, the stockholder of FINRA Regulation shall designate from the elected Directors a Chair and such other persons having such titles as it shall deem necessary or advisable to serve until the next annual election or until their successors are chosen and qualify. The persons so elected shall have such powers and duties as may be determined from time to time by the Board. The Board, by resolution adopted by a majority of Directors then in office, may remove any such person from such position at any time.
Amended by SR-FINRA-2009-020 eff. Aug. 20, 2009.
Amended by SR-NASD-2007-023 eff. July 30, 2007.
Amended by SR-NASD-2001-57 eff. Sept. 12, 2001.
Amended by SR-NASD-99-10 eff. Feb. 8, 1999.
Amended by SR-NASD-97-71 eff. Jan. 15, 1998.

Selected Notice: 09-39.