Skip to main content

Important Disclaimer: FINRA does not approve or endorse any professional credential or designation. Learn More >>

Master Registered Financial Consultant (MRFC)

Designation Essentials
Status Currently offered and recognized by the issuing organization.
Issuing Organization International Association of Registered Financial Consultants (IARFC)
Qualification and Training Requirements

Candidate must meet all of the following requirements:

  • Self-assertion and documentation of a minimum of four years full-time experience as a financial planning practitioner in the field of financial services (which can include investment planning/securities, financial planning, insurance planning, retirement planning, estate planning, tax preparation, bank and trust services, and CPA or Enrolled Agent).
  • Evidence of having satisfied licensing and registration requirements (registered representative, investment adviser representative, insurance agent or CPA)
  • Attest to a sound record of business integrity. Attest to Code of professional conduct and business integrity.

IARFC will verify experience and evidence of licensing as described more fully on its website.

Designation Training Requirements

Assert and document any one of the following:

  • One of the following professional designations: AAMS, CFA, CFP, ChFC, CLU, CPA, EA, LUTCF or RFC or completion of course requirements.
  • A Series 65 Securities license or one of the following combinations: Series 6 & 63, Series 6 & 66, Series 7 & 63, Series 7 & 66.
  • Life Insurance license.
  • A Bachelors' or graduate degree in Accounting, Economics, Finance or Financial Planning/Services.
Designation Exam Type

Certification Exam (proctored)

Continuing Education Requirements

Complete 40 units of professional continuing education hours every year. Two units every year must be related to ethics.

Verification and Complaints
Online Designation Resource

Online at Find a Consultant

Investor Complaint Process

Online at Submit a Complaint

Published List of Disciplined Designees