Skip to main content

Important Disclaimer: FINRA does not approve or endorse any professional credential or designation. Learn More >>

Registered Financial Associate (RFA)

Designation Essentials
Status Currently offered and recognized by the issuing organization.
Issuing Organization International Association of Registered Financial Consultants (IARFC)
Qualification and Training Requirements

Bachelor's or graduate degree in financial planning from an institution offering an IARFC-approved or CFP-equivalent curriculum, or financial professional with less than three years financial service industry experience.

Designation Training Requirements

One of the following:

  • Hold one of the following professional designation: AAMS, CFA, CFP, ChFC, CLU, CPA, EA, LUTCF.
  • A Series 65 Securities license or one of the following combinations: Series 6 & 63, Series 6 & 66, Series 7 & 63, Series 7 & 66.
  • Life Insurance license.
  • A Bachelors' or advanced degree in Business, Finance, Economics, or a related field.
  • Education requirement can also be met by completing the entire course requirements for the following IARFC designations: RFA, RFC or MRFC. 
Designation Exam Type


Continuing Education Requirements

Forty hours every two years in the field of personal finance and professional practice management. Four hours every two years must be devoted to ethics.

Verification and Complaints
Online Designation Resource

Online at Find a Consultant

Investor Complaint Process

Online at Professional Conduct

Published List of Disciplined Designees