Skip to main content

Ad Hoc Committees

FINRA departments also create specific subject-matter committees as needed to consult on various issues. The composition of the committees and their meeting frequency depends upon FINRA’s consultation needs related to the subject matter.

Current active ad hoc committees include the following:

Complaints Initiatives Committee (CIC)

Composed of representatives from approximately 23 firms that file much of the information collected pursuant to Rule 4530 (Reporting Requirements), especially information regarding written customer complaints required by Rule 4530(d). The CIC advises FINRA’s National Cause and Financial Crimes Detection Program regarding issues and trends relating to the rule’s requirement to report quarterly statistical and summary information regarding written customer complaints. FINRA staff consults with the CIC on changes to Rule 4530, related technology application issues and Regulatory Notices and frequently asked questions (FAQs) that are published regarding Rule 4530.

Committee Members:

Ashley Adkins
Cash App Investing LLC

Jason Albino
Grove Point Financial

Kathleen Alte

Roger Alvarado
Bank of America/Merrill Lynch

John Baccus

Jill Coen
JP Morgan Chase

Patrick Dogan
Edward Jones

Alexander Drexel
Raymond James

Jeanine Eaton
HSBC Securities (USA), Inc.

Alison Esbeck
Edward Jones

Terry Freeman
Wells Fargo

Kevin Gaylord
Charles Schwab

Jason Gibson
Lincoln Financial Group

Daniel Gillette
Merrill Lynch Pierce Fenner & Smith

Hilary Gitchell
Lincoln Financial Network

Justin Harmon
Edward Jones

Corinne Hawkins
LPL Financial

Brian Thomas Ikemeier
Edward Jones

Heather Johnson
Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Akearah Judge
E*TRADE from Morgan Stanley

Mary Kastens
US Bancorp Investments

Gary Klein
Fifth Third Bank

Elisabeth Kratka
Morgan Stanley

Debra Lucke
Ameriprise Financial LLC

Lisa Lynn
TIAA-CREF Individual & Institutional Services, LLC

Gregory Martin

Matthew Mueller
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.

Katina Nelson
Bank of America, Merrill Lynch

Nicole Neumann
Charles Schwab/TD Ameritrade

Tracy Saale
Charles Schwab Corporation

Margaret (Meg) Sandridge
Wells Fargo

Charles Saul
Lincoln Financial Network

Tamra Scarborough
Wells Fargo

Serina Shores
The Huntington Investment Company

Marc Simoneau
Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC

William (Alan) Smith 
Janney Montgomery Scott LLC

Kevin Spence

Stefanie Stannard

Theresa Steele
Wells Fargo

Jeremy Stone
Cash App Investing

Gregory Thompson
JPMorgan Securities LLC

Gregory Toohey
Ameriprise Financial

Michelle Wolf

Katherine (Katie) Zeitler
Huntington Investment Company

FINRA Staff Liaisons:
Han Nguyen
Tina Tambiah


FinTech Industry Committee

Composed of 15 members drawn from member firms, academia, and industry participants, in addition to one Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) observer and one North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) observer. The committee provides FINRA, member firms and others with a platform for ongoing dialogue and analysis of FinTech developments, including with respect to their potential impact on FINRA’s investor protection and market integrity objectives; challenges to the adoption of FinTech-based products or services; opportunities to improve interactions between firms and FINRA to support innovation that is consistent with FINRA’s investor protection and market integrity objectives; and possible FINRA FinTech initiatives.

Committee Members:

Jo Ann S. Barefoot
Alliance for Innovative Regulation

Richard Berner
NYU Stern School of Business 

Mark Casady
Vestigo Ventures

Lule Demmissie

Maria Gotsch
Partnership Fund for New York City

Joshua Hershman

Jourdan Jones
Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association of America (TIAA)

Boris Khentov
Betterment Securities

Katie Makstenieks
Atomic Brokerage, LLC  

Neha Narula
MIT Media Lab

Melissa Netram

Lagan Srivastava 
Galaxy Digital

Mona Vernon
Fidelity Investments

Kevin Werbach
Wharton School of Business, University of Pennsylvania


Jillian Lazar
North American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) FinTech Committee

Valerie A. Szczepanik
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

FINRA Staff Liaisons:
Robert Chao
Alex Khachaturian
Haimera Workie


Licensing and Registration Council (LRC)

Composed of 10 industry members, five NASAA members and two SEC observers. The committee advises FINRA’s Credentialing, Registration, Education and Disclosure (CRED) Department regarding industry trends, best practices, and challenges relating to the licensing and registration of financial services firms and their associated persons. The LRC provides a forum for the open discussion of issues relating to Web CRD® and the Investment Adviser Registration Depository (IARDTM), and provides recommendations for enhancements of those systems. The Committee also provides feedback on CRED’s operations, industry offerings, and strategic plan.

Committee Members:

Eileen Arcuri
Magnit/Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.

Heather Emmert
JPMorgan Securities, LLC

Kimberly Gannon
Edward Jones

April Gaskin
Commonwealth Financial Network

Richard Gowan
Edward Jones

Craig Harrison
Benjamin F. Edwards

Eugene McGivney
Morgan Stanley

Vicki Schmelzer
Franklin Distributors, LLC

Regina Sims
M Holdings Securities, Inc.

Kevin Ward
Vanguard Marketing Corporation

Terry Donlan Welker
Lombard Securities Incorporated 

FINRA Staff Liaison:
Bill Swanstrom


Public Communications Committee

The Public Communications Committee is composed of member firm representatives. The committee advises FINRA on matters regarding proposed changes, interpretive guidance and the implementation of FINRA rules governing member communications with the public, including communications concerning registered investment companies and variable insurance products, and informs the FINRA staff on matters concerning emerging communications technologies.

Committee Members:

Surabhi Ahmad
Ameriprise Financial

Stephen Bard
Wells Fargo Clearing Services

Kenneth D. Cieprisz
Franklin Templeton

Kristi Crawford
Charles Scwab & Co., Inc.

Nathaniel Ganousis
Edward Jones

Cameron Hellewell
Orchard Securities, LLC

Darrian Hopkins

Ted Newton

Julie Richmond
Fidelity Investments

Nicholas P. Salas
BCI Securities, Inc. & Latin Securities, Inc.

Danielle Nicholson Smith
T. Rowe Price

FINRA Staff Liaison:
Amy Sochard


Rule 4210 Committee

Composed of representatives from member firms and representatives from the SEC, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Cboe and Options Clearing Corporation. The Committee advises FINRA’s Office of Financial & Operational Risk Policy with respect to the industry’s margin and credit practices. FINRA’s staff consults with the Committee regarding issues and changes relating to Rule 4210 (Margin Requirements), the rule’s interpretations and other related margin regulations including Regulation T.

Committee Members:

James Adams
CBOE Global Markets, Inc.

John Aurre
Goldman Sachs

Ronald Baakkonen
Charles Schwab

Chris DeCarlo
UBS Financial Services Inc.

Pasquale DiGennaro
Pershing LLC

William Eineke
Options Clearing Corporation

Kevin Fitzgerald
JP Morgan

Camile Grande
Oppenheimer & Co., Inc.

Walter Koller

Michael Macchiaroli
US Securities and Exchange Commission

Joseph Pergola

Richard Primavera
Jefferies, LLC

Chris Radler
National Financial Services, LLC

Daniel Sieracki

Benjamin Snodgrass 
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Trevor Vernier
Apex Fintech Solutions

FINRA Staff Liaison:
James Barry