Skip to main content

For updates and guidance related to COVID-19 / Coronavirus, click here.

FINRA Board of Governors

The FINRA Board of Governors, the governing body of the corporation, oversees management in the administration of FINRA’s affairs and the promotion of FINRA’s welfare, objectives and purposes.

On This Page


FINRA’s Board is currently composed of 20 industry and public members, with 10 seats designated for industry members, 12 seats designated for public members and one seat reserved for FINRA’s Chief Executive Officer.

Seven of the industry governor seats—three small firm governors, one mid-size firm governor and three large firm governors—are designated for individuals associated with FINRA members that corresponds to each firm size. A small firm employs at least one and no more than 150 registered persons, a mid-size firm employs at least 151 and no more than 499 registered persons and a large firm employs 500 or more registered persons.

The remaining industry seats are reserved for one Floor Member Governor, one Independent Dealer/Insurance Affiliate Governor and one Investment Company Affiliate Governor.

Current Board Members

Chairperson and Public Governor

Eileen K. Murray
Former Co-CEO, Bridgewater Associates, LP
Westport, CT


Robert W. Cook
Washington, DC

Public Governors

Camille M. Busette
Brookings Institution
Washington, DC

Lance F. Drummond
Charlotte, NC

Jack B. Ehnes
West Sacramento, CA

Peter R. Fisher
Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH

Maureen Jensen
Former Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Securities Commission
Toronto, Ontario Canada

Eric Noll
Context Capital Partners
Bala Cynwyd, PA

Charles I. Plosser
Former President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
Amelia Island, FL

Hillary A. Sale
Georgetown University Law Center
Washington, DC

Ethiopis Tafara
Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency, World Bank Group
Washington, DC

Industry Governors

Christopher W. Flint
Farmers Financial Solutions LLC
Bellevue, WA

Brian J. Kovack
Kovack Securities, Inc.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Wendy Lanton
Lantern Investments, Inc.
Melville, NY

Kathleen A. Murphy
Fidelity Personal Investing
Boston, MA

Linde Murphy
M.E. Allison & Co., Inc.
San Antonio, Texas

James D. Nagengast
Securities America, Inc.
LaVista, NE

Paige W. Pierce
McLaughlin Ryder Investments, Inc.
Alexandria, VA

Timothy C. Scheve
Janney Montgomery Scott LLC
Philadelphia, PA

Amy L. Webber
Cambridge Investment Research, Inc.
Fairfield, IA

Selection Process

The Board’s Nominating  & Governance Committee (Nominating Committee) has the authority to nominate candidates to run for election to fill seven seats on the Board designated by firm-size category—three small firm governors, one mid-size firm governor and three large firm governors. Individuals may also petition to become candidates for these seven elected governor seats. Candidates for these seats are elected by the firms eligible to vote for that category of governorship.

The remaining governors are appointed by the Board from candidates nominated by the Nominating Committee.

To be considered for nomination to a vacancy on FINRA’s Board please submit an indication of interest through FINRA’s online portal.


Governors are appointed or elected for three-year terms and may not serve more than two consecutive terms. If a governor is elected or appointed to fill a vacancy for a term of less than one year, the governor may serve up to two consecutive full terms after the expiration of the governor’s initial term.

Board Schedule

The FINRA Board of Governors generally holds five regularly scheduled meetings a year. The Board also holds special meetings as necessary.

Upcoming Board Meetings

  • December 2 – 3, 2020